HCC President Receives Mayor Kemp's "Make Your Mark Award" for Leadership in Workforce Education Development | HCC

News Archive

HCC President Receives Mayor Kemp's "Make Your Mark Award" for Leadership in Workforce Education Development

The Hopkinsville-Christian County Chamber of Commerce hosted the 122nd Chamber Annual Dinner on June 3, 2010 at the James E. Bruce Convention Center. This year's dinner featured a "Back to the Future" theme as Chamber staff and volunteers took a light hearted approach as they looked to the future.

Amy Berry, 2010-2011 Chamber of Commerce Board Chair, commented, "I'm excited to be the Chair of this outstanding Board and to work with the staff of the Chamber team. As evidenced by the Annual dinner, we have a creative, energetic, and effective Chamber team and I know the future is bright for our community and our Chamber of Commerce."

This year's annual dinner featured three video productions: Hopkinsville-Christian County: Then and Now, The Chamber Office, and Interviews from the Future. These videos will be added to our website in the coming weeks so feel free to visit www.hopkinsvillechamber.com to continue to monitor the latest happenings of the Chamber of Commerce.

In addition, several leaders and volunteers were recognized for their contributions, including:

The Mayor's Make Your Mark Awards presented by Mayor Dan Kemp to Dr. Jim Selbe for leadership in Workforce Education Development, Mr. Eston Glover, Jr. for leadership in Economic Development, Ms. Gay Wilson for leadership in housing development, and Mr. Bernard Standard for leadership in human and race relations.

Mr. Robert Flick was recognized as the Bob Kelso Diplomat of the Year and Mr. Brian Lacefield was the inaugural recipient of the Hopkinsville-Christian County Young Professional of the Year Award.

The Chamber also recognized outgoing Chair, Rich Maddux, with a plaque and small gift recognizing Mr. Maddux's invaluable contribution to the Chamber team. Mr. Maddux shared, "I'm so proud to have been a part of this year's effort s and I look forward to continuing to serve the community and Chamber in the future."

Mr. Bob Ward, Mr. Calvin Givens, and Mr. David Smith were recognized for their service to the Chamber Board as they rotate off of the Chamber Board of Directors while Mr. Tim Murphy, Mr. Charlie Ramsey, and Mr. Eric Lee were welcomed to the Board as they begin their three year terms.

The 2010-2011 Officers for the Chamber Board of Directors includes Ms. Amy Berry, Chair; Ms. Lori Harper, Chair-elect, and Mr. Eric Lee, Vice Chair.

Carter Hendricks, President/CEO, commented, "We had a great evening and we are proud of our entire Chamber team. There's no doubt that we are blessed with progressive and bold leadership in this community. As staff, we are humbled by the support of our elected officials and Chamber members. We recognize that our commitment to grow our membership, expand our service to our members, invest in new technology to better service our membership, implement the 2011-2015 Community Vision Plan, and continue to market our community as the place for military, young professionals, retiree, new industries, and new businesses is dependent on a strong membership base and an ability to work with one vision and one voice. We believe the best is yet to come as we move back to the future."

For more information on these or any other events, please contact the Chamber at (270) 885-9096.