48th HCC commencement held May 9 | HCC

News Archive

48th HCC commencement held May 9

Hopkinsville Community Colleges 48th Commencement Ceremonywas heldat 7 p.m. on Friday evening, May 9 at the James E. Bruce Conference and Convention Center located at 303 Conference Center Drive in Hopkinsville. Tickets are required for attendance.

According to HCC Registrar Melissa Stevenson, 896 students have applied for 1,630 credentials - 646 two-year degrees, 936 certificates, and 48 diplomas. Compared with 2013 statistics, HCC has experienced a 14.7 percent increase in graduate candidates as well as a slight increase of almost 5 percent in credentials to be awarded.

Presiding at the ceremonywas HCC President Dr. Jay S. Allen, who also presenedt graduation credentials to the class of 2014. Dean of Student Affairs Dr. Jason Warren served as master of ceremonies and also presented the candidates for graduation with the assistance of Interim Chief Academic Affairs Officer Dr. Alissa Young.

Graduate Yadel Gonzalez was named thos year's spirit cup winner.

The class of 2014 included 19 graduates who are the first from the Rotary Scholars program, which provides funds for any student who graduates from a public or private high school in Christian County to attend HCC tuition free. This partnership between HCC and the Hopkinsville Rotary Club began with the 2012 graduating class.

The commencement speaker will be Dr. Walter G. Bumphus, president/CEO of the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC). Dr. Bumphus holds a bachelors degree in speech communications and a masters degree in guidance and counseling from Murray State University, and a Ph.D. in higher education administration from the Community College Leadership Program at The University of Texas at Austin. In 1992, Dr. Bumphus was recognized as a distinguished graduate from both Murray State University and The University of Texas at Austin. Dr. Bumphus holds the distinction of being one of the few leaders in the field of education to receive the ACCT Marie Y. Martin CEO of the Year Award, to chair the AACC Board of Directors, and to receive the AACC Leadership Award.

From 2007 to January 1, 2011, Dr. Bumphus served as a professor in the Community College Leadership Program and as chair of the Department of Educational Administration at the University of Texas at Austin. He also held the A. M. Aikin Regents Endowed Chair in Junior and Community College Education Leadership. He previously served as president of the Louisiana Community and Technical College System (LCTCS) from 2001 to 2007. LCTCS later conferred upon him the title of President Emeritus of the Louisiana Community and Technical College System. From November 2000 to September 2001 he was chancellor of Baton Rouge Community College (BRCC). Prior to joining BRCC, Dr. Bumphus worked in the corporate world serving as President of the Higher Education Division of Voyager Expanded Learning. Six years prior, he served as president of Brookhaven College in Dallas County Community College District