News Archive

HCC joins Local Rotary in D.C. as the Civic Club is Honored with a National Award from the Council for Resource Development

Hopkinsville Community College President Jim Selbe and Chief Institutional Advancement Officer Yvette Eastham along with Hopkinsville Rotary Club members John Schrecker and Rotary President Kermit Rowe are in Washington, D.C. this week to attend the 45th annual conference of the Council for Resource Development (CRD), Building Community. The Rotary Club of Hopkinsville will be honored on Friday evening at a gala at the Hyatt Regency, Capitol Hill where Rotary President Rowe will speak.

Yvette Eastham, who is also the executive director of the HCC Foundation in addition to her college duties, nominated The Rotary Club for its Rotary Scholarship program that will begin at HCC in 2012. The Club received Benefactor of the Year for Region IV, which includes Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. Polly Binns, executive director of CRD states, Thanks to the Hopkinsville Rotary Scholars Program, many other communities are being inspired to meet the educational challenges they face.

After working with the Council for Resource Development, Eastham was recently named its Region IV Director. Hopkinsville Rotary is the perfect recipient for the conference theme of Building Community, as there is no organization I know of in the country building community like our local Rotary club, stated Eastham.

While in D.C. for the week, HCC President Selbe also had the opportunity to tell the Hopkinsville story at the Rotary Club of Washington, D.C., whose members include ambassadors and leadership across a broad spectrum of governmental entities; and Capitol Hill Rotary, whose membership includes members of State Department staff, Department of the Interior, and the Peace Corps. Selbe received a standing ovation at the Washington D.C. club, and early indications are that the club is considering some form of replication of the Hopkinsville Rotary Scholars Program.