ConceptKCTCS/KCTCSConcept News Item | Hopkinsville Community College

HCC announces award winners for 48th ‘Round Table’ edition

Today Hopkinsville Community College (HCC) hosted a ceremony to unveil its 48th annual Round Table Magazine, which includes poetry, prose and visual artwork from those with a connection to HCC’s service area. English Professor Brett Ralph was the master of ceremony and also served as the faculty sponsor of the magazine.

The following contributors to this year’s edition read from their work: Brian Coatney, Michael R. Freeland, Za’Nyia Garland, Laci Leek, Courtney Lyons, Rose Nelson, Deeya Patel, Jesse Powell, Noah Rager, Jennifer Soladay and Savannah West.

Amy Wright, creative writing instructor at Austin Peay State University, judged the 2014 Round Table Literary Awards and Roger Selvidge Memorial Art Awards. The magazine’s editorial staff includes: (poerty) Heather L. Fryer and Courtney Lyons, (fiction) Reed Davis and Brandon Fuston and (art) Heather L. Fryer. The staff considered over 300 pages of poetry and prose and nearly 100 works of visual art, submitted by 90 area writers and artists. From this, 53 pieces by 32 different artists and writers were selected for publication. All work was considered anonymously, both for publication and for the literary prizes.

2014 winners:
The Roger Selvidge Memorial Art Awards recognize outstanding work by area visual artists. The honor is named after the late Roger Selvidge, an area artist, photographer, author, retired high school teacher, and all-around champion of the arts.
• First Place, Black & White Photography Division: Rbt. Sps. “Bridge Inn”
• Color Photography Division: Kristy Howell, “Home of the World’s First Mechanized Corn Planter”
• First Place, High School Division: Morgan Derden, “A Walk in the Park ”The Roger Selvidge Memorial Art Award
• Second Place, High School Division: Kevin Vives, [untitled]

The Harbinger Awards recognize outstanding work by area elementary and middle school students, in hopes that it represents a harbinger of creative endeavors to come:
• First Place, High School Division for Prose: Gabrielle Kaye, “When Approaching the Old City”
• First Place, High School Division for Poetry: Savannah West—“Do Not Give Up”
• First Place, Middle School Division for Poetry: Deeya Patel, “Ephemeral Beauty”
• First Place, Elementary School Division for Poetry: Laci Leek—“Had a Goose for a Pet”

The Edgar Cayce Awards recognize outstanding literary work by community members from the HCC service area:
• First Place Poetry Award: Virginia K. Barnes, “Nights in Question of Want”
• Second Place Poetry Award: Virginia K. Barnes, “Old Blue KY Never Die”
• Third Place Poetry Award: Jennifer Soladay,“Invisionary”
• First Place Prose Award: Michael R. Freeland,“Walking with Books”

The Carl Suddeath Awards recognize outstanding work by Hopkinsville Community College faculty and staff members. They are named for retired HCC English professor and longtime Round Table countributor Carl Suddeath:
• The Carl Suddeath Poetry Award: Bernd Sauermann, “Sirens”

The Frances G. Thomas Awards recognize outstanding poetry and prose by Hopkinsville Community College students. They are named for retired HCC English professor and Round Table founder Frances G. Thomas:
• First Place Prose Award: Brandon Fuston, “Empty Places”
• First Place Poetry Award: Heather L. Fryer, “Valentine”
• Second Place Poetry Award: Heather L. Fryer, “The Silence”
• Third Place Poetry Award: Kaylee Quertermous, “Syndrome”
• Honorable Mention Place Poetry Award: Courtney Lyons, “Within Caverns of Ice”

The late Frances G. Thomas, who was an HCC English professor, started the magazine, which has become a long-standing college tradition.